Common Core State Standards

Adopted by over 45 states in the U.S., the Common Core State Standards are a set of shared K-12 learning expectations for students in English-Language Arts and Mathematics. While the new standards are similar in ways to Oregon’s past standards, some content has been shifted and the level of rigor has increased to ensure college and career readiness at the end of high school.

What are Common Core State Standards? 

Common Core State Standards:

  • Are more advanced and rigorous than current standards.

  • Reflect a clear progression of skills and knowledge in math and language arts.

  • Will be consistent across school districts and states.

  • Dig deeper into core skills and concepts, engaging complex thinking and problem-solving.

  • Reflect today’s and tomorrow's college and workplace expectations.

  • Were released nationally in 2010, are evidence-based and are similar to standards for top-performing educational systems such as Finland and Singapore.

Across the English Language Arts and Mathematics standards, skills critical to each content area are emphasized.  In particular, problem-solving, collaboration, communication and critical-thinking skills are interwoven into the standards.
The standards are not curricula and do not mandate the use of any particular curriculum.  Therefore, the Common Core State Standards does not prescribe instructional materials or lessons.  State and organizations have come up with tools and rubrics to help inform decisions about purchasing materials and build understanding of what aligned materials look like.

Additional Resources for Parents
Oregon Department of Education: 

Education Northwest: CCSS- What do Parents Need to Know?
What do the CCSS mean for my student? CCSS FAQ

National Education AssociationFive Facts for Making Sense of the Common Core