Microsoft Teams Student Support Portal
Speech and Debate Students Set School Records

Over the fifty-plus year history of our team’s membership in the National Speech and Debate Association, four students have earned the NSDA’s highest honor of Premier Distinction. This year three more joined them. Annika Larson, Sarah Aaronson, and Sienna Scoggin have all excelled in competition across America, pushing themselves to the highest level in a variety of different Speech and Debate events.  Sarah is the second student to earn this honor after competing for only three years (Dylan was the first) and Sienna is the first in our school to earn Premier Distinction her Junior year.
Our new top ten NSDA points earners in chapter history:
First Last Grad Year Degree Points
Brielle Preskenis 2015 Premier Distinction 1901
Sarah Aaronson 2019 Premier Distinction 1645
John Ropp 2017 Premier Distinction 1624
Dylan Kistler 2018 Premier Distinction 1577
Sienna Scoggin 2020 Premier Distinction 1542
Mat Marr 1999 Premier Distinction 1528
Annika Larson 2019 Premier Distinction 1502
Lilli Morrish 2020 Outstanding Distinction 1457
Rob Stallman 2017 Outstanding Distinction 1429
Tim Borgerson 2010 Outstanding Distinction 1400
Our coaches have also been busy, Eliza Haas was re-elected President of the National Parliamentary Debate League, which runs high school Parliamentary Debate across the country, including the online ranking system and the Tournament of Champions each April.

Mat Marr is now President of the Oregon Speech Coaches Association, which runs the State Championship each April in partnership with the OSAA. Mat was also re-elected to the NSDA district committee, which runs the National Qualifier tournament in March.

Ashland School District - © 2020 All Rights Reserved   |   Printer friendly version   |   Site Handcrafted in Ashland, Oregon by Project A   | 
Bookmark and Share